top of page

Love, Honor and What?


Believe it or not when I was 19 and my husband to be and I were meeting with the preacher before our wedding, I stated that I wanted the word obey to be stricken from our vows. They both looked at me puzzled and asked why? I said, " I was not a dog and would not be treated as one" I was young and full of myself wanting to be equal and grown up. I learned fast, that wasn't what my role was to be. that wasn't what God wanted. That may have been the message of the world at that time, women were leaving the home and taking on careers, putting their kids in daycare making money to have better things than their neighbor's The Jones were born. Everyone had one in their neighborhood and everyone else wanted to keep up with them.... Wear this, drive that... Through it all bankruptcy and divorce became the answer the new normal. The 80's brought the collapse of the traditional marriage and family. The Aqua Net and acid washed denim brainwashed the masses and led them astray from the practices and traditions of their grandparents. That lifestyle was outdated and worn to uncool for our new school. This was a new day the era of daytime talk shows a place where you can fly your freak flag and be celebrated or judged. A place where you could get your 15 minutes of fame. A time of adultery and Aids, breast implants and sex change operations. This was the decade of reality insanity.

We didn't attend church then, but we did have a traditional marriage modeled after the one my husbands parents had. He went to work and I stayed home with the children. Supper was ready at 6pm and we all ate together at the table. Yes Sir and No Sir was said along with please and thank you. We didn't have a lot but we always had each other. If the kids were bad they got a spanking, no meant no and they played outside. We rented VHS tapes and made forts in the living room and said I'm sorry if we hurt someones feelings. It was pretty simple in our house...

In case your wondering,no the word obey was not mentioned in my wedding ceremony. I never promised to, yet for 30 years I have. Who knew underneath the 80's punk rocker there was a Godly and submissive wife.

With Love,

Carla Jean


Drop Me A Line

Tell us your story or just let us know how its going.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

If you would like to be a part of our community contact me here.

bottom of page